Nuneaton to Bakewell - 72.47 miles.....

I set out to go from Nuneaton, through Leicestershire villages and onto the Cloud Trail at Worthington which would take me right through to Darley Abbey and Little Eaton where I would then head towards Wirksworth and get on the High Peak trail.

In reality I got a bit lost in Coalville where I stopped at the Library to check on a map where I was heading!  Got back on track and found the Cloud Trail but the once I came off that I again got a bit disorientated and didn’t quite take the route Id planned to Wirksworth.  And Once I got there, I couldn’t find the High Peak Trail and ended up going through Cromford and then rode a few A and B roads until I saw some signs for Buxton / Bakewell and I knew I was getting near!

The last bit of the journey was back on the lanes but as I was now in the Peaks it was a hilly end to a long ride and I was glad to find the B&B where I was staying for the next two nights!

I had a long shower, went to eat at a local pub and also picked myself an OS map up from the garage for the next day.  I think it took me about 2 seconds to fall asleep lol!




Leave a Reply.