Picture
I didnt have time for a long ride today as I have things to do this afternoon, so I made up for it by doing a VERY hilly route.  I also did a bit offroading along Bentley Woods track and got splattered with mud!  As the ride went on I forgot about the mud splattering and thoguht the rain would have washed it off.....but as you can see by my pic it didnt!!  So I doubt it was the friendliness of people smiling at me along the way but rather the comedy value of my speckled face that caused the smiling, NAY LAUGHING!!!  And as I pulled up to home, Amy and Matt had just arrived and as they "beeped" me and sailed past in the car I caught their faces and saw the hilarity on their faces too!!  THE SHAME!.............

Still back to the serious side of the ride......stats! lol!  Today I faced my nemesis and tackled the hill that runs from mancetter,up quarry lane past Tilcon Quarry and ends at Ridge Lane.  This is the biggest Hill I know around here (although suggestions welcome!!) and although Smockington Hollows hill was probably steeper its far shorter as the Quarry Lane Hill is quite a decent climb.  At one point I was in my lowest gears, which I hate cos I've got nowhere to go after that, and I was still struggling!  I though OMG Im gonna have to get off and push!  But the thought of writing that in my blog was enough to spur me on and finally I MADE IT!  My bloody thighs were screaming though, not helped from yesterdays leg session lol!  Ive got to do this (or similar) more regularly as Im sure this is nothing compared to some of the hills im gonna meet EEEEEEEEK!  I want to feel really confident up these hills by the time the JoGLE arrives, which is only 10 weeks away now.......

The rest of the ride was still a hilly one although not quite as much elevation as the Clifton Campville one I did, but the Ticlon Hill has been the steepest hill so far by far.  I felt good today and pretty strong up the hills so I guess that means im improving :o)  I hope the intense leg sessions will also help although Im prepared to feel worse before I feel better until the body gets used to the new intensity.

So a shower and get my dalmation spots off, lets hope its good for the skin and Ill look ten years younger hahahaha!




Leave a Reply.