Since I have had my new heart monitor I have made some observations.  The biggest thing I have noticed is now my heart rate is being monitored I am burning far less calories than originally indicated by just the activity time monitoring and distance alone.  The machines at the gym are able to monitor the heart rate if you hold the sensors and it matches the garmin heart rate, but yet the machine calorie suggestion is far higher than the garmin....
Maybe this is because the garmin has my full data of height / weight / age etc and is constantly monitoring the heart??  Anyhow it is a bit depressing lol!

The cycling does not burn anywhere near the same amount of calories as running, which at the moment I cant do!  After the impromtu running with my broken bike the other day I noticed that my average heart rate is far higher than when cycling and there calorie burning was far higher.  I also have a low resting heart rate of just below 60bpm.  So I have set my Garmin up for Heart Rate Zones, and when I drop below the low zone it beeps at me lol!  To match running I need to keep my heart rate around the 140bpm range.  With cycling I am finding its more in the 120bpm range.  And yesterday when I was tired, I was struggling to keep it over this!  Now I know when I do the JoGLE im not racing and im not setting myself time limits per day etc, but for training purposes for fitness, esp on shorter rides, I really need to pick up the pace!

Thoughts anybody??..........



Leave a Reply.